the one in which i get all corporate

When I was 4 I wanted to be an astronaut (because what I really wanted, was wings).

When I was 7 I wanted to be an actress (because what I really wanted, was attention).

When I was 15 I wanted to be a designer (because what I really wanted, was creativity).

When I was 18 I wanted to be a grown up (because what I really wanted, was freedom).

When I was 22 I wanted to be everything (because what I really wanted, was to live).

And at 23? I’m nothing if not excited by my devotion to lead an unplanned existence. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. I don’t want to grow up.

Except that I’m kind of good at it.

Except that today, I did all sorts of grown up things. All sorts of company supporting, knowledge-base expanding, research paper exploring and quantitative data assessing things.

And I loved it.

I loved it more than online shoe shopping. (Really? REALLY.)

I expounded words solely employed by real-live-grown-ups. Things like ‘governance’ and ‘innovation’ and ‘revenue.’

I used revenue in a sentence today.

I did it while wearing a necklace that says ‘Drink Me’ and sucking on a lollipop, but I did it.

And I liked it.

And I’m kind of horrified.

And I can’t form complete sentences (obviously).

But I’m also kind of excited.

Because though I may dress like a cupcake, walk like bubble, laugh like imp, and bat my eyes like an ingénue, I love nothing more than using my brain like an Einstein.

When I was 23 I discovered I wanted to rule the business world (because what I really want, is power.)

~ by rubylocks on March 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
